Bill Cutshall’s Weblog

December 16, 2008

Wisdom and Trivia – High-fructose Corn Syrup is Bad for You, Fatty

Filed under: Wisdom and Trivia — billcutshall @ 1:22 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I hate telling people “I have no idea” especially concerning current issues.  When I run across something that makes an impact on my life that I know nothing about I am compelled to research it until I have a feeble grasp of the issues at hand.  In order to put my compulsion to use I am going to start writing “Wisdom and Trivia” so that others can bore people at parties as effectively as I am able to.

I will start with “what is so bad about high-fructose corn syrup?”

Eating food sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup will make you fat.  So will eating foods sweetened with sugar.

High-fructose corn syrup has come under a lot of fire recently and its critics claim it is to blame for the increasing obesity of Americans.  They point to chemistry and biology that shows that eating foods sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup causes the body to store fat rather than metabolize it for energy.  They point to the correlation between the introduction and use of high-fructose corn syrup and the obesity levels of the US population as proof of their theory in action.

The pro-corn-syrup folks point to the same chemistry and biology and remind us that eating any kind of sugar causes the body to store fat rather than metabolize it and claim that the rise in obesity levels of the US population has more to do with consumption levels than what type of sugar is used.

I believe the truth lies somewhere in between.  I think Americans began eating more sugary foods prompting food manufacturers to come up with a cheaper way to deal with sugar (high-fructose corn syrup is a liquid making it easier to transport, handle, and cook with than granulated sugar).  Cheaper sugar and an American sweet-tooth mean sugar could find its way into recipes it wouldn’t traditionally be found in to appeal to the tastes of consumers.

As usual, I caution that I claim no basis for my beliefs or theories.  They should be used for recreational purposes only.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

